Worlds Collide: Breakfast in the Caucasus

Food meets travel in today’s post!

A lot of times, I think people have the misconception that food in other countries is always exotic or very different from what they eat at home, wherever that may be. And while the traditional food oftentimes is very different, everyday food, or things that you can buy at the grocery store or small shop down the road, tend to be pretty much the same. Of course in certain places they won’t have as many imported foods as in other places, but you can still cook almost anything that you want. You don’t have to give up on eating healthily, just because you are traveling. Here’s my breakfast to prove that!

I am currently in the Caucasus, and am enjoying every minute of it! The weather here has been quite calm and sunny for the past few days, though the wind can get very strong. Anyways, this morning I made myself a smoothie!

IMG_3386A healthy, delicious, and quick way to start your day, you can probably make this, almost anywhere that you travel!

I first started by cutting up the fruits that I wanted to use. You can add your choice of fruit, whatever you like, or whatever is in season. I cut up 2 red plums and 1 nectarine. Add as much or as little fruit as you would like. I also cut up 1 banana. The banana helps to give the smoothie its thicker texture, and is also high in potassium! After you cut up the fruit, measure out about 1 cup of yogurt. I used plain yogurt, but you can use flavored yogurt if you desire. All of my ingredients are pictured below:

IMG_3372

You will need to first place the banana chunks into the blender. Next, I add the yogurt to cover the bananas. Then add your choice of fruit. Finally, add as much milk to the mixture as you did yogurt (so a 1:1 ratio of milk and yogurt). If you would like your smoothie a little thinner or thicker, you can add more or less milk, but I’ve found this to be a good ratio. You don’t need to stir anything together, just put it all in the blender.

IMG_3381

Blend everything together for about 15 seconds or so, until there are no large chunks left. Pour the smoothie into two large glasses and enjoy!

This is a very quick and easy breakfast, which literally takes maybe 3 minutes to make. You can make it pretty much anywhere in the world, so if you’re trying to eat healthy while traveling, you have no excuse now! 🙂

 

One thought on “Worlds Collide: Breakfast in the Caucasus

  1. Pingback: August Favorites | Footsteps of a Soul

Leave a comment