Travelogue: Neuschwanstein Castle

In keeping with featuring a location that is currently playing in the World Cup, today’s post takes us to Germany!

Neuschwanstein Castle is famously known as the castle that the Disney castle is modeled after, and they do look quite similar. I’m very sorry that I don’t have one of my own pictures to show you…our pictures from that trip have mysteriously disappeared…

There is more to the castle than just being a model for a franchise though. The castle has a rich history, as King Ludwig II greatly loved this castle. The name of this castle translates “New Castle.”

The castle is nestled among mountains and forests, which create a lovely scene. It is a ways to hike up to the top, so make sure you have good walking shoes on.

There is something interesting about the castle for people of all ages, so don’t hesitate to go, no matter how old (or young) you are.

I am very sorry, but that’s all for today. I said I wanted to write at least a little bit everyday (see blog post Starting Anew for more on that), so even though this post isn’t up to the standards of the others, something is better than nothing. I hope tomorrow’s post will be better!

Leave a comment